In Laval, Across The River From Montreal, Bela

The escalator never stops rolling never /

And if you happen not to hold the handrail /

Camacho will arrest you and the 24 minutes /

Will seem like forever, forever. /

The law is not written on a sliver /

of paper, nor on a poster nor picto /

For the law is not written when Camacho

determines to deliver it in his own manner.

Tell me your name so I can issue a ticket

Tell me your name Madame

Monsieur, I do not have to tell you my name

Monsieur, let me tell you where you can stick it.

In cases such as these, handcuffs come in handy

And Camacho used his swiftly

The law was not applied correctly

And Madame’s lawyers were dandy.

It only took a decade

For the rotten record to be rewritten

Bela, Bela, Bela,

Justice forks when it’s decidedly delayed.

At the end of the day came a long arm

When the court issued a lengthy judgment

Coté laid down the law played down the harm

In the candy store it would be called a fudgement.

Leave a comment