Bring back democracy Quebec

Jean Francois Roberge

Since Quebec Education Minister Jean-Francois Roberge suspended the democratically elected English Montreal School Board on November 6, 2019 and replaced all commissioners with one person, the Honourable Marlene Jennings, I have been seething.

I subscribe to Winston Churchill’s idea, “…that democracy is the worst form of goverment except for all other forms that have been tried….”

And when a governent suspends a democratically elected board, the need for citizen vigilance increases. In addition to the appointment of Jennings, accounting and management firm Deloitte was appointed. Quebec has chosen to hire a very respectable accounting firm, but at what cost?

And despite my request to learn how much Jennings is being paid, my waiting is going into its third week, today, I sought information on how much Deloitte is pocketing.

I also asked for a copy of the Decree authorizing the appointments of Jennings and Deloitte. Being impatient, I received a link to the decree by a learned librarian. The Lieutenant-Governor J. Michel Doyon’s office confirmed it had been ratified. I may complain to a higher authority.

Of course, being Quebec, the only copy of the Decree stripping voters of their vote, stripping the powers of the English Montreal School Board, was in French.

A bientot.

Leave a comment