Letter to Premier François Legault

cmu19 0617 BU3I3585bwlr

© 2019 Christinne Muschi

 

 

June 19, 2019

My dear Premier François Legault,

As a Quebec resident, I am deeply concerned that you fail to understand the perspective of those people who will be harmed by the Secularism law.

Let me step back. I belong to no religion, I practice no religion. I rejected religion more than 40 years ago. However, I respect other peoples’ rights to practice religion so long as they do no harm to others.

If a doctor at a public hospital is wearing a kippah, it should not bother Quebecers because I believe most Quebecers desire respect and show respect for others. If an engineer is wearing a turban, I only care that they ensure a structure is safe. Period.

I have come before many judges in my day, and none wore any religious symbols. Needless to say, they often made errors, but not because of their religious affiliations. Religion played no part in their decision making.

Quebec’s Secularism law denies Quebecers the opportunity to make this place a great place to live. Why would you want to deny religious persons, who wear small articles on their bodies, an opportunity to contribute to this place? They might enhance Quebec, if you give them the chance.

Alas, it appears that you do not want to give them opportunity in the public service. It appears that you want them to be denied equal opportunity in Quebec.

It makes little sense to me. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you at your convenience.

Until then,

Jack J. Locke

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Letter to Premier François Legault”

  1. A School Board of One | Lokshtanov Says:

    […] there was Bill 21, the Piss on Religions law. When the Québec government passed its ‘secularism law’ and invoked the notwithstanding […]

Leave a comment