Onto The Hard Wooden Floor She Lays Her Head

(written for Swimmer Mar 19, 2014)

Onto the hard wooden floor she lays her head /
I remember past days I did the same /
There can be happiness on death’s long tread. /

As a young pup she roamed free and sped
to spaces and places like living flame
Onto the hard wooden floor she lays her head.

There was much warmth when she slept on our bed
Her ability to leap gained much acclaim
There can be happiness on death’s long tread.

Time is fleeting when you’re floating I’ve said
For all my failures I have shed my shame
Onto the hard wooden floor she lays her head.

She cannot eat without help being fed
Despite infirmity she is a grand dame
There can be happiness on death’s long tread.

The end of life is an idea I dread
Although, loving life is a stake I claim
Onto the hard wooden floor she lays her head
There can be happiness on death’s long tread.

Leave a Reply

