Thanks Barack

 

White House File Photo/Pete Sousa

White House File Photo/Pete Sousa

Hello. May I please speak to President Barack Obama?

“May I ask what this is about?” answers the professionally-trained operator at the White House.

“Well, it is about open, transparent government,” I answer, pausing for a moment before adding, “in Canada.”

“I’m sorry, but you’ve got the wrong country,” the operator gently answers.

“Yes, I know that,” I acknowledge, “but unfortunately, our Prime Minister, Stephen Joseph Harper, does not list his phone number on his website, and I thought that President Obama might be willing to share it.”

“You’re kidding, I hope. The Prime Minister of Canada does not provide a phone number with which people can call him?”

“No, he does not,” I respond.

“Just a minute, I’ll see if I can find it for you on his website, I’ll just be a moment,” the operator says.

One minute passes, then two, before the operator’s voice returns.

“I checked the website at http://www.pm.gc.ca/eng/contact.asp,” the exasperated operator huffs. “His website says, ‘The Prime Minister greatly values the thoughts and suggestions of Canadians. You may write, e-mail or fax his office.’ ”

“Jesus, you are right. There is NO phone number listed. That is shameful. Just one minute and I’ll patch you through to the president’s office.”

And that is how I received the Prime Minister of Canada’s phone number.

2 Responses to “Thanks Barack”

  1. David J Cox Says:

    you rock

Leave a Reply

